Back to News

Transworld Skateboarding Announces Nominees for 10th Annual TWS Awards

May 20, 2008

Transworld Skateboarding Announces Nominees for 10th Annual TWS Awards
Winners To Be Announced on June 13, 2008 in Hollywood, Calif.

Transworld SKATEboarding, the world’s number one skateboard magazine, announced the nominees for the 10th Annual Transworld SKATEboarding Awards today. The winners will be named during a live event on June 13, 2008 at Avalon Hollywood.

The Transworld SKATEboarding Awards honor skateboarding’s top riders, presenting eight awards to professional skateboarders in the categories of: Best Rookie, Best Street Skater, Best Transition Skater, Best Team, Best Video, Best Video Part, Best Two Video Parts, TWS Readers’ Choice and the TWS Legend Award. The award winners are determined by polling more than 150 professional skateboarders worldwide with thousands of Transworld SKATEboarding’s readers voting for the winner of the TWS Readers’ Choice Award. This year’s TWS Legend Award will be presented to one of skateboarding’s biggest stars, Tony Hawk. Previous winners of this prestigious award have included Mark Gonzales, Lance Mountain, and Steve Caballero.

To commemorate the 10th Anniversary, this year’s TWS Awards will also include a ten-year photo slideshow featuring the most acclaimed photography, art direction, and storytelling in skateboarding. Plus, the post awards party will kick-off with the world premiere of And Now, the newest film by Transworld SKATEboarding’s Jon Holland and Chris Ray, featuring Sean Malto, David Gravette, Matt Miller, Richie Jackson, Kenny Hoyle, and Nick Trapasso.

“The TWS Awards have always been the biggest and best awards in skateboarding, and that’s because it’s the pros who decide who truly rose above for the year,” says Eric Stricker, editor of Transworld SKATEboarding. “There isn’t a more meaningful award than garnering that kind of respect from your peers. And with the level of skateboarding turned up thanks to the astronomical number of video releases in ’07, whoever wins deserves to party that much harder.”

Here are the official nominees for the 10th Annual Transworld SKATEboarding Awards:

Silas Baxter-Neal
Nick Dompierre
Shuriken Shannon

Stefan Janoski
Guy Mariano
Andrew Reynolds
Plan B

Dan Drehobl
Jake Duncombe
Emmanuel Guzman
Silas Baxter-Neal, Inhabitants & eSpecial
Corey Duffel, Feed the Need
& Cataclysmic Abyss
Stefan Janoski, Inhabitants
& Nothing But The Truth

Mike Mo Capaldi
Marc Johnson
Guy Mariano

TWS Legend:
Tony Hawk

The 10th Annual Transworld SKATEboarding Awards is proud to be associated with sponsors: New Era, Stereo Sound Agency, Vans, and Zoo York. For more information on Transworld SKATEboarding and the Transworld SKATEboarding Awards, please visit