Back to News

PacSun's Battle of the Brands To Go Off During 2008 U.S. Open of Surfing in Huntington Beach

July 15, 2008

PacSun's Battle of the Brands To Go Off During 2008 U.S. Open of Surfing in Huntington Beach

Leading Surf Industry Brands and Media to Square Off for Bragging Rights in Tag-Team Format

Surfing America, the National Governing Body for Surfing in the USA, is excited to announce the second annual PacSun’s Battle of the Brands -- a unique event in which competing industry brands will let their surfing ability settle all differences. PacSun’s Battle of the Brands is a tag-team format event, which pits eight, four-person teams consisting of two professionals, a woman and a grom under the age of 18.  The only brands invited to compete are the USA Surf Team’s Official Sponsors. 

The high-profile event featuring top international athletes will take place at the U.S. Open of Surfing Surf Stadium on the south side of the Huntington Beach Pier, this Friday, July 18th at 1 pm.

Aside from bragging rights, the winning brand will get a window display in every PacSun store nationwide during the Spring of 2009.  This event is Surfing America’s way of giving back to PacSun and all the brands that have supported the organization over the years.

A separate division will be held for the media sponsors of the USA Surf Team, in which four employees from Surfer, Surfing, Transworld SURF, Surfline and Fuel TV will be competing for a $10,000 ad by from PacSun – the USA Surf Team’s title sponsor.

“We are so pleased that the industry has rallied around the development of Surfing America and the USA Surf Team program--and this event is a celebration of that unity," said Surfing America Executive Director Mike Gerard.  "Support from SIMA, the industry's top brands, and PacSun create the perfect storm that benefits everyone involved in growing the sport. Surfing America is an industry-wide initiative committed to funneling the best youth surfing talent in the United States upward--and inspiring future world champions.  And we're honored to have the opportunity to present this event in support of our industry partners."

Based on the following rosters, it’s apparent that each brand is gunning for the win.  Here’s the lineup of talent:

Sterling Spencer
Cory Arrambide
Kolohe Andino (USA Surf Team Member)
Courtney Conlogue (USA Surf Team Member)

Brett Simpson
Yadin Nicol
Evan Geiselman (USA Surf Team Member)
Dazie Goodwin

Mason Ho
Shea Lopez
Riley Metcalf
Leilani Gryde

O'Neill (2007 Champions)
Cory Lopez
Pat Guduaskas
Nat Young (USA Surf Team Member)
Malia Manuel

Julian Wilson
Dylan Graves
Tyler Newton
Sally Fitzgibbons

Rip Curl
Austin Smith-Ford
Kyle Ramey
Alex Smith
Amy Nicholl (USA Surf Team Member)

Media teams include:

Surfing (2007 Champions)
Travis Ferre
Marty Thomas
Scott Chenoweth
Jimmy Wilson

Marc Beaty
Jon Warren
Robin Walker
Kevin Wallis

Transworld Surf
Justin Cote
Chris Cote
Aaron Checkwood
Casey Koteen

Rick Irons
Grant Ellis
Brendon Thomas
Chris Mauro

Fuel TV
Matt Beacham
Shannon Waller
John Stouffer
Eric Locko