Back to News

Zumiez Couch Tour 2009 is “Bringing Happy Back”

May 22, 2009

Zumiez Couch Tour 2009 is “Bringing Happy Back”

Enjoi, Almost, KR3W, Supra, Lakai, Toy Machine, C1RCA, Volcom, Fallen skate teams.

Zumiez, Inc., a leading specialty action sports retailer, is bringing happy back with the 9th annual Zumiez Couch Tour. The Zumiez Couch Tour 2009 features skateboarding demos by pros Chris Cole, Jake Duncombe, Erik Ellington, Sierra Fellers, Cairo Foster, Ryan Gallant, David Gonzalez, Jerry Hsu, Marc Johnson, Terry Kennedy, Greg Lutzka, Billy Marks, Mike Mo Capaldi, Leo Romero, Daewon Song, Ed Templeton, Jamie Thomas, Nick Trapasso, and many more. The Zumiez Couch Tour 2009 also offers free live music performances by bands including Emery, Silverstein, The Bled, A Static Lullaby, Closure in Moscow, Revolution Mother feat. Mike V., and Volcom Entertainment Bands ASG, Birds of Avalon and Jamie Lynn’s Kandi Coded.

The tour hits 12 cities with skate demos from Enjoi, Almost, KR3W, Lakai, Toy Machine, C1RCA, Volcom and Fallen. Admission to tour stops is free and includes prizes and giveaways from tour partners Monster Energy, the official energy drink of the Zumiez Couch Tour, New Era, Skullcandy, Vestal, Transworld Skateboarding, Matador by Jack Link’s, and Chipotle Mexican Grill. The events also feature skate team autograph signings, an interactive festival area, and ALL THINGS HAPPY!

A highlight of all tour stops is the 3rd annual Zumiez 'Best Foot Forward' Am Contest Series presented by Monster Energy, which will give up-and-coming skaters the chance to “rise up and march on.” Zumiez Best Foot Forward is a jam format invitational amateur skateboard contest series that will start from the Broken Arrow Skatepark outside Tulsa, OK on May 23rd for the first of 2 ‘renegade’ stops before joining the Zumiez Couch Tour for all 12 stops. Each contest will begin with an open qualifier, where the first 20 skaters to register will compete for one of 3 spots in the invitational contest later that day. The winner of each local BFF invitational will then be flown to compete in the Zumiez Best Foot Forward Finals in Minneapolis, MN at the final stop of the tour on July 1. From there the three top skaters will be invited to compete at the Hometown Heroes Finals at X-Games 15 on July 31st 2009.
C’mon Get Happy!

Zumiez Couch Tour 2009 Schedule
Date Location Lineup
May 30, 2009 Puyallup, WA Enjoi skate team, Emery & Kandi Coded feat. Jamie Lynn
May 31, 2009 Portland, OR Enjoi skate team, Emery & Kandi Coded feat. Jamie Lynn
June 6, 2009 Pleasanton, CA Almost skate team, The Bled & Kandi Coded feat. Jamie Lynn
June 8, 2009 Layton, UT KR3W team, Emery & The Bled
June 12, 2009 Hurst, TX Lakai skate team, Emery & Revolution Mother feat. Mike V.
June 14, 2009 Katy, TX Lakai skate team, Emery & Revolution Mother feat. Mike V.
June 17, 2009 Aurora, IL Toy Machine skate team, Emery & A Static Lullaby
June 20, 2009 Hanover, MD C1RCA skate team, Emery & Closure in Moscow
June 22, 2009 North Wales, PA C1RCA skate team, Emery & Closure in Moscow
June 27, 2009  Eatontown, NJ Volcom skate team, ASG & Birds of Avalon
June 28, 2009 Albany, NY Volcom skate team, ASG & Birds of Avalon
July 1, 2009 Golden Valley, MN Fallen skate team, Silverstein & A Static Lullaby
Participating Skate Teams
Enjoi Louie Barletta, Jerry Hsu, Cairo Foster, Caswell Berry, Jose Rojo, Wieger VanWaginengin, Clark Hassler, Nestor Judkins
Almost Rodney Mullen, Daewon Song, Greg Lutzka, Chris Haslam, Cooper Wilt, Lewis Marnell, Torey Pudwill, Justin Schulte
KR3W Erik Ellington, Terry Kennedy, Lizard King, Jim Greco, Furby, Antwuan Dixon, Dan Murphy, Greg Myers, Spencer Hamilton, Kevin Romar
Lakai Marc Johnson, Brandon Biebel, Cairo Foster, Mike Mo Capaldi, Vincent Alvarez, Jeff Lenoce, Rob Welsh
Toy Machine Ed Templeton, Nick Trapasso, Leo Romero, Billy Marks, Johnny Layton, Josh Harmony, Austin Stephens, Matt Bennett, Jordan Taylor 
C1RCA Ryan Gallant, Sierra Fellers, Windsor James, Walker Ryan, David Reyes, Scott Decenzo, Julian Davidson
Volcom David Gravette, David Gonzalez, Collin Provost, Aaron Suski, Jake Duncombe, Filipe Ortiz, Darrell Stanton, Caswell Berry, Louie Lopez
Fallen Jamie Thomas, Chris Cole, Tommy Sandoval, Billy Marks, Josh Harmony, Tony Cervantes, Brian Hansen, Gilbert Crockett, James Hardy