Industry News 9/23/2009

EVENT: Surfrider Foundation Celebrates 25 Iconic Waves at Art for the Oceans III

Surfrider Foundation Celebrates 25 Iconic Waves at Art for the Oceans III

In celebration of the Surfrider Foundation’s 25th Anniversary Gala on October 9, 2009, the organization is hosting the third installment of its popular “Art For The Oceans” auction series.
Surfrider Foundation Board Member and former World Champion Shaun Tomson is co-curator of the event.  To celebrate the organization’s 25th Anniversary, Shaun chose the twenty-five of the world’s most iconic surf breaks, which would then be interpreted by 25 of the world’s most renown contemporary artists. Tomson’s picks include such legendary breaks as Pipeline, Rincon, Kirra, Teahupoo, Jaws and others. Not only are these waves considered surfing’s crown jewels, many of them are also facing significant environmental threat.
Scott Hulet, Editor of The Surfer’s Journal, and the curator for the Surfrider Foundation’s initial “Art For The Oceans” hand-selected the artists and matched them to each wave. Hulet has secured a veritable “who’s who” of contemporary artists, including Shepard Fairey, Barry McGee, Craig Stecyk III, Raymond Pettibon, Thomas Campbell and others.
“Art For The Oceans III captures the essence of twenty-five iconic waves,” says Surfrider Foundation’s CEO Jim Moriarty.  “Never before has such a collection of one of the world’s most ephemeral natural wonders come together in re-creations through the eyes of twenty-five renowned artists.”
Doors and reception for “Art For The Oceans III” will begin at 5:30 PM, with first gavel at 6:30 PM.  To purchase tickets for the Surfrider Foundation’s 25th Anniversary Gala, view the complete list of lots, and register for “Art For The Oceans III,” visit <> .