Industry News 5/24/2012

TV: Billabong XXL Big Wave Awards Premiere on FUEL TV This Sunday, May 27 Plus 5 More Air Dates

Billabong XXL Big Wave Awards Premiere on FUEL TV This Sunday, May 27 Plus 5 More Air Dates

Garrett McNamara (Haleiwa, Hawaii) accepts the XXL Biggest Wave Award for his world record wave ridden off Portugal. Click on the photo to see a preview of the FUEL TV show documenting the 2012 Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards.

Click HERE to see all the winners on the BillabongXXL.com website

 

Click here to join in and "Like" the XXL at www.facebook.com/BillabongXXL

 

NEWPORT BEACH, CA - (May 24, 2012) - The one hour television show documenting the 2012 Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards presented by Monster Energy has been rescheduled to premiere on FUEL TV starting this Sunday, May 27 at 6 P.M. ET/3 P.M. PT. This year's XXL Awards will be remembered as one of the most spectacular in the event's 12-year history and stars two of the most stunning rides ever seen in the sport - Nathan Fletcher's unthinkable tube at Teahupoo, Tahiti that won the Sony Xperia Ride of the Year and Garrett McNamara's world record ride on a 78-footer off the coast of Portugal. Between them, Fletcher and McNamara swept five of the XXL's seven categories.

 

The FUEL TV show features all the highlights from the year of surfing and the recent Billabong XXL Awards ceremony, and also delves deeper into the mindset of big wave legends like Greg Noll, Jeff Clark and Greg Long. Other surfers appearing on stage to accept their winner checks and the cheers of the huge crowd were Hawaii's Dave Wassel, who captured the Monster Paddle award, and Brazilian Maya Gabeira, who took the female performance title for the fifth time. The spirited awards night was hosted by former ASP World Champion Mark Occhilupo from Australia and Alex Gray, the Los Angeles native who had his own share of big wave success this year.

 

Be sure to tune in for the most amazing big wave surfing ever seen on Sunday, May 27 at 6 P.M. Eastern/3 P.M. Pacific on FUEL TV.  Consult your cable provider for local channel listings. For a complete listing of FUEL TV shows, go to: http://www.fuel.tv/schedule/. To find FUEL TV on your cable or satellite provider, or to get FUEL TV, go to www.fuel.tv/getfueltv, or call 877-4 FUEL-TV.

 

2012 Billabong XXL Big Wave Awards Winner HIghlights

Click above to see a quick clip of the 2012 Billabong XXL Big Wave Awards Winner Highlights

 

The Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards show on FUEL TV will also re-air at the following dates and times:

           

Thursday, June 7           11:00pm ET/8:00pm PT                         

Friday, June 22              4:00am ET/1:00am PT                     

Saturday, June 23          11:00pm ET/8:00pm PT                           

Wednesday, June 27      3:00pm ET/12:00pm PT                           

Friday, June 29              6:00pm ET/3:00pm PT                         

  

The Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards are presented by Monster Energy. Verizon Wireless is the official communications provider and XPERIA Sony Smartphone is the official cell phone supporter. Surfline.com is the exclusive surf forecast of the XXL and Contour the exclusive provider of point of view cameras. The event is sponsored by Air Tahiti Nui airlines, Surfing Magazine and Pelican Products.

 

See the event website at www.BillabongXXL.com for more details about the 2012 Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards.