Industry News 4/22/2015

B$Z: Global Skateboarding Awards Nominations Announced; Voting Now Open

World Skateboarding Federation today announced the nominees in the first-ever Global Skateboarding Awards to honor the outstanding philanthropic contributions of the skateboarding industry. The nominees were collected from our online campaign as well as top industry polling. The public can vote for nominees in seven categories: Skateboarder, Skate Park, Retailer, Brand, Nonprofit Organization, City/Municipality/Country and Lifetime Achievement. Voting is open today through May 1 at

The winners will be announced during the opening night reception of the Global Skateboarding Summit in Istanbul, Turkey on Friday, May 22.  The purpose of the awards are to recognize the individuals and groups that best represent their commitment to the greater skateboarding community with initiatives for social responsibility, volunteerism and corporate citizenship.

The three-day summit, May 22-24, will be held at The Conrad Hotel Istanbul and include top speakers from the international skateboarding community.  With skateboarding a budding contender for future Olympic games inclusion, the summit is designed to bring together skateboarders, organizations, groups, federations and associations, for the first time, in an effort to collaborate, organize and create a meaningful direction for the sport of skateboarding, while informing the skateboarding community about what to expect and answer any questions.

World Skateboarding Federation, a nonprofit governing body that is working with local and national organizations for the promotion of skateboarding, is the leader in providing skateboarders around the world with funds to help pay for travel expenses to attend international contests. WSF supported more than 35 skateboarders to attend the Skateboarding World Championships last year in Kimberley, South Africa. WSF actively donates skateboards to youth in poverty stricken areas and supports worthwhile skateboarding organizations worldwide. WSF is currently working with a number of countries, providing leadership and expertise, to help them form national federations.

“WSF is very active globally we feel it is a responsibility of a governing body such as ours to reach out and be supportive to all of skateboarding. The Global Skateboarding Awards are a way to honor those in the industry who lead by example and who demonstrate a commitment to giving back, whether it’s corporate responsibility, social development or donating their own time to benefit others. Their inspiration, continued dedication and overall passion have helped fuel the growth of skateboarding worldwide, and through it, inspire others,” said Tim McFerran, World Skateboarding Federation president.

The nominees for the 2015 Global Skateboarding Awards are:

Skateboarder of the Year
Tony Hawk
Ryan Sheckler
Jim Thiebaud
Pierre Andre Senizergues
Steve Rodriguez
Jost Arens

Retailer of the Year
KCDC New York
Skatepark of Tampa
The Boardr
Southside Houston
Subsect Iowa
Titus Germany

Nonprofit Organization
Tony Hawk Foundation
Girls Rider Organization
Skate for Homies
Grind for Life
Skatelife Canada
Stronghold Society
Skate aid
Next Up Foundation
Tanzania Skateboarding Miracle

Skate Park of the Year
Etnies Skate Park - Lake Forrest, California
Southside Skate Park - Houston, Texas
Kumba Skate Plaza - Kimberley, South Africa
Clairemont YMCA - San Diego County
Skatehalle Aurich - Northern Germany

Brand of the Year
Action Realize
Girls Rider Organization
Loaded Boards
Powel Peralta

Lifetime Achievement Award
Tony Hawk
Steve Van Doren
Jeff Ho
Jay Adams
Noel Korman
Stacy Peralta
Tony Alva
Steve Caballero
Jim Fitzpatrick
Paul Schmitt
Damian Hebert

City, Municipality, Country
City of Portland
City of LA
New York City Parks and Recreation
Northern Cape South Africa
New Zealand