Back to News

EVENT: Closest Title Fight in AMSOIL Arenacross History Culminates with Milestone Race in Las Vegas

April 29, 2015

A total of 19 nights of racing across 13 different states during the 2015 season of AMSOIL Arenacross, featuring Ricky Carmichael's Road to Supercross, will culminate with the championship's historic visit to Las Vegas this Friday night, May 1, inside South Point Arena. The action kicks off at 11 p.m. EDT/8 p.m. PDT.


Since it began a month ago, the Race to the Championship has been filled with dramatic competition, aggressive racing and the exact mentality from the riders one would expect in a playoff situation. Two riders have emerged with the most success through the first-five rounds of the Race to the Championship - Team Babbitt's Monster Energy/AMSOIL Kawasaki's Jacob Hayes and Husqvarna TiLUBE TUF Racing's Kyle Regal - and with the final race looming in which AMSOIL Arenacross crowns a new champion, these two rivals sit knotted atop the point standings in a tie for the championship lead.

Hayes (2) and Regal (4) will both carry the red number plate as Race to the Championship co-leaders as AMSOIL Arenacross crowns a champion in Las Vegas.

Photo: Josh Rud / ShiftOne Photography

With a tie atop the championship standings, six points separating the top-three, and seven riders still mathematically eligible to win the Arenacross Class title on Friday night, this is the single most competitive season in AMSOIL Arenacross history. The historic fact, combined with Las Vegas hosting both the AMSOIL Arenacross and Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, finales for the first time ever has set the stage for one of the sport's biggest weekends. As if that wasn't enough already, the rider who sits atop the final Race to the Championship standings on Friday will be a first-time AMSOIL Arenacross Champion, signifying the 14th different winner of the coveted title in over 30 years of competition.


At the previous stop of the championship this past weekend in Fresno, California, Hayes was able to secure back-to-back overall victories, vaulting him into a tie atop the Race to the Championship with Regal, who entered as the top seed and has led the points for all but one of the five rounds thus far. Both Hayes and Regal are the only two riders with multiple overall wins in the Race to the Championship, each doing so consecutively.

Fireworks, both ceremonial and competitive, are sure to fly inside South Point Arena for one last time in 2015.

Photo: Josh Rud / ShiftOne Photography

Throughout the majority of the 2015 season leading into the Race to the Championship, this duo controlled the point standings as the winningest riders in AMSOIL Arenacross. It's only fitting that they have once again ascended to the top of the championship at its most pivotal moment, continuing their incredible success in the Race to the Championship. With just one round and two Main Events remaining in the 2015 season, Hayes and Regal sit deadlocked. In the event of a tiebreaker, Hayes currently holds the advantage with the most Main Event wins at eight compared to Regal's seven. However, with two Main Events looming in Las Vegas, the pair could end up with an equal share of Main Event victories as well, which would force the tiebreaker to determine who has the most subsequent finishes of second, and potentially third, if necessary.


Never before in AMSOIL Arenacross history have so many tiebreaking scenarios been necessary, but it's an indication of the historic competitiveness of the championship this season. In total, eight different riders have earned a Main Event win in 2015, while six different riders have claimed an overall win. And with seven different riders within a mathematical shot of the title, the AMSOIL Arenacross title still has plenty more unpredictability in store heading into Las Vegas.


The spotlight on the co-point leaders could work into the favor of Team Babbitt's Monster Energy/AMSOIL Kawasaki rider Matt Goerke. One of four riders to lead the championship standings at some point this season, Goerke lurks behind Hayes and Regal third in the Race to the Championship. He faces just a six-point deficit to the lead duo and with seven Main Event wins of his own this season, Goerke could be that dark horse pick to make up those six points, surpassing the leaders to steal the title on the final night of the season.

With back-to-back runner-up finishes and just a six-point deficit to the points lead, Goerke is the dark horse to win the title coming into Las Vegas.

Photo: Josh Rud / ShiftOne Photography


In addition to Hayes, Regal and Goerke, the remaining four mathematically eligible riders in the Race to the Championship standings - Chris Blose, Gavin Faith, Cory Green and Travis Sewell - have all enjoyed success in 2015, and any one could make things interesting inside South Point Arena on Friday.


The 15th and final round of AMSOIL Arenacross and the deciding night in the Race to the Championship gets underway this Friday, May 1st, inside South Point Arena. Racing begins at 11 p.m. EDT/ 8 p.m. PDT.